Welcome to the eBizInsider eCommerce Forums! -- Everything You Need for eCommerce.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. Users must Register before posting. Our forum is open to the public.

Username: Password:
Not Registered? Remember me ?
E-Commerce Forum - eBiz Online Community » Marketing & Website Promotion » Online Marketing - PPC » Google Ad Words » Google Awords E-mail Scam

Google Ad Words Talk about Google Ad Words.

Reply
Old 03-26-2008, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
vselin's Avatar
 
Status: Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 74
 vselin is a Junior Member

Send a message via Yahoo to vselin


vselin is offline  
Default Google Adwords E-mail Scam

Just received this.....called Google & they said it's a scam.....just wanted to let you guys know.....this is the first I have heard of it!
The e-mail is below:



This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Google AdWords Customer,

Please sign in to your account at Welcome to AdWords , and update your billing information.
Your account will be reactivated as soon as you update your payment information.
Your ads will show immediately if you decide to pay for clicks via credit
or debit card. If you decide to pay by direct debit, we may need to receive
your signed debit authorization before your ads start running,
depending on your location.
If you choose bank transfer, your ads will show as soon as we receive your
first payment.


We look forward to providing you with the most effective advertising available.

Sincerely,


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Google AdWords Team
__________________
Take care -
Vance

Last edited by vselin; 03-26-2008 at 10:40 PM.


Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
kick2fix's Avatar
 
Status: Solid Cactus Team Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 25
 kick2fix is a Junior Member



kick2fix is offline  
Default

The scammers are out to get you, Vance!!

Thanks for the heads-up.
__________________
Carlos A. Sanes
Technical Support Engineer
carlos.sanes@solidcactus.com


Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
vselin's Avatar
 
Status: Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 74
 vselin is a Junior Member

Send a message via Yahoo to vselin


vselin is offline  
Default

dude...i know!!!

i just thought it was really random.....instead of being from Chase.....they are now acting like they are with Adwords!

have you heard of this before?
when i called Google they said that they heard of this just a couple of times before.
__________________
Take care -
Vance


Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
cactus_jeanl's Avatar
 
Status: Solid Cactus Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 112
 cactus_jeanl is a Junior Member

Send a message via Yahoo to cactus_jeanl


cactus_jeanl is offline  
Default

Vance,

Thank you for the heads up on this. It's the first I've seen of it thus far. I'll pass it along to the rest of our team in case they didn't see it here!
__________________
Jean Lloyd

Solid Cactus - Team Leader, Search Engine Marketing


Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 08:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
Status: Super Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 122
 sunil.lukose is a Junior Member



sunil.lukose is offline  
Default

With so much phishing going on there are some smart services that you could use like phishing filters for ie 7 and Mcafee siteAdvisor will help you to identify phishing sites.
__________________
Sunil Lukose
Solid Cactus - Manager, Product Development


Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 10:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
cactus_jeanl's Avatar
 
Status: Solid Cactus Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 112
 cactus_jeanl is a Junior Member

Send a message via Yahoo to cactus_jeanl


cactus_jeanl is offline  
Post

Just a note, we are investigating this a little bit more, so if anyone else gets one of these emails, feel free to post here and we'll make a note of it.

Thanks!
__________________
Jean Lloyd

Solid Cactus - Team Leader, Search Engine Marketing


Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 10:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
Joseph Domkowski's Avatar
 
Status: Solid Cactus Team Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dallas PA
Posts: 4
 Joseph Domkowski is a Junior Member



Joseph Domkowski is offline  
Default

I used to teach a course at a local college and part of that course was on identity theft. One of the biggest red flags that comes up to me when I see Dear Customer or Dear Soandso@someurl.com. If you see this you should proceed with caution. Most company will address you by the First and Last name that you have on account or some variation. This is a good indication that the email is for you, but not always, so when in doubt CALL SOMEONE. Call the company that you think the email is from, ask if they sent it.
__________________
Joseph Domkowski

Solid Cactus - E Commerce Consultant


Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 11:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
cactus_donnat's Avatar
 
Status: Solid Cactus Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 155
 cactus_donnat is a Junior Member

Send a message via Yahoo to cactus_donnat


cactus_donnat is offline  
Default Oh no!

Ebay, PayPal, etc.... now AdWords... these scammers never stop, do they?! Thanks for posting the news here!! Very helpful to alert others.

One thing I always noticed is that when you login into your respective account, on your log-on page there would always be some kind of alert or status message if there was something wrong with you account- sometimes you have to acknowledge that message to proceed. My advice would be if anyone receives an e-mail like that, to log into whatever service it was for and see if your account status or billing info page jives. In most cases, I am sure it won't. I personally love getting these e-mails pertaining to accounts I don't even have.
__________________

Donna Talarico- Solid Cactus - Senior Solutions Advisor
My job is to CACTIFY your website!
(w) 570-706-7116
(c) 570-417-8134
donna.talarico@solidcactus.com
"Enthusiasm is the mother of all effort, and without it, nothing great was ever accomplished." - Emerson


Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
sgusa's Avatar
 
Status: Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 75
 sgusa is a Junior Member

Send a message via Yahoo to sgusa


sgusa is offline  
Default

I sent a copy of the email to Google.
__________________
Mike
SafetyGlassesUSA.com
"We have your protection in sight."


Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 07:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
cactus_jeanl's Avatar
 
Status: Solid Cactus Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 112
 cactus_jeanl is a Junior Member

Send a message via Yahoo to cactus_jeanl


cactus_jeanl is offline  
Default

Everyone is giving great advice. You're all right: if you're not sure, send it on to Google for them to check. We've been hearing a lot of people are getting it outside of the forums as well.

Also, if you clicked on the link or think your account might have been compromised in any way, definitely contact Google asap and they will assist you!
__________________
Jean Lloyd

Solid Cactus - Team Leader, Search Engine Marketing


Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.